Member Spotlight Archive

Congratulations To Award Winners Recognized At The Big Apple Celebration


Matthew Saravay, President & CEO, Wizard Studios  – Matthew Saravay is President and CEO of Wizard Studios, and has vast experience in event production, theater and television production, branding, marketing and sales in several industries.  Mr. Saravay’s work in Special Events has been recognized over the years through the many awards he has won for set design, logistics management, Social Media Engagement, and Sustainability.  In 2011 Wizard Studios was named Best Corporate Event Planner by the NY Chapter of the International Special Events Society at it’s annual Big Apple Awards.

Mr. Saravay served on the Board of Directors of the New York Chapter of the International Special Events Society from 2004 – 2010, and 2012 – 2016.  His career includes stints as Advertising Manager of Brand Marketing Magazine; Marketing Manager for WABC – TV in New York; and Director of Business Development for Cendant Corporation.  He headed the expansion of Wizard Studios in New York in 2002.

Matthew lives in Katonah, NY with his wife, Vicha, and his three sons Jacob, Andrew, and David.


David Fells, Plus 2 Promotions – David is married to Allison, together since 1984.  Proud father of Sydney and Jordyn, twin 18 year old daughters.  Companion to Hudsyn, 3 year old yellow lab.  President of Plus 2 Promotions, Inc. since 2000.  Keeping your brand permanently in the monds of your clients and prospects.  Member of ILEA Board of Directors for the 4 past years.

Sacha Lehto, Powered by Professionals – Sacha Lehto bring international experience and a wealth of knowledge to New York from her 13-year career in the nonprofit sector.  In addition to ILEA, highlights of her volunteer roles include being Co-Chair of Wild At Heart:  A Benefit for Animal and Human Health, supporting Veterinarians International.


Elaina Royter-Luparello, Cirque Central – Elaina is the founder and artistic director of Cirque Central.  With a background in Rhythmic Gymnastics, Elaina delved into the world of performance, aerial and entertainment after graduate school.  While training and performing throughout the US and abroad she established a network of talent, mentors and experience in the event world which she utilized to create Cirque Central in 2015.


Rebecca Dreifuss, National Hockey League – Rebecca hs been a member of ILEA since 2014 and is currently a Manager in the Events Department at the National Hockey League.  As a young event professional, Rebecca realized she wanted to become more involved after attending The Special Event in 2016, so she reached out to our Board of Directors and has since been a member of the Program & Education Committee, bringing you amazing events every month.

Be Part Of The Action From The Start Of This Year

How To Become A Part Of The Action From The Start Of The 2020-21 Year


Now there are multiple membership options. Find the best fit for your career or business.  Membership Types and Dues    Join online.

Make things happen that give you a good return on your membership.  Only members are eligible to participate on chapter committees.

Learn new skills. Enjoy the fun. New members are welcome.
Committee work informs, builds relationships, and challenges your capacity for problem solving, creativity, diplomacy, organization, and much more.

LEARN MORE about what these committees do or JOIN a committee.

  • MEMBERSHIP – Meet, greet, network, guide, engage and much more.
  • EDUCATION / PROGRAMS – All aspects of planning chapter events during the year
  • COMMUNICATIONS / MARKETING – Whew this is a busy one
  • STRATEGIC PARTNERS – NYC event professionals have both paid and in-kind relationships with the chapter that require organizing and tracking an interesting array of deliverables and receivables


  • Name / Contact info
  • Committee work preferences
  • Questions.

Contact us.  Get involved during 2020-21.

Hall Of Legends Honorees

Hall Of Legends Honorees

Each Year the ILEA NY Metro chapter honors individuals and organizations whose exceptional accomplishments have made a significant positive impact on our industry and the larger events community.

The Hall Of Legends honors event industry colleagues for their leadership, exemplary achievements and tenure in the special events industry.


Matthew Saravay – Wizard Studios 2018  /  Jennifer Claire Scott, CSEP – ACCESS new York Metro 2017  /  Michael and Sunny Halperin – Party Rental LTD 2016  /  Joe Veriker – Photo Bureau Inc. 2016  /  David Adler – BizBash Media 2015  /  Tim Hayes – Gotham Air 2015  /  Maureen Ryan-Fable – First Protocol 2014  /  Van Allen Rice – Bestek Lighting and Staging 2014  /  Hank Lane – Hank Lane Music 2013  /  Thomas Preti – Thomas Preti Events to Savor 2013  /  David Beahm – David Beahm Design 2012  /  Harriett Rose Katz – Gourmet Advisory Services 2012  /  Jes Gordon – jesGORDON / properFUN 2011  /  Jeff Kalpak – Barkley Kalpak Associates Inc. 2010  /  Bentley Meeker – Bentley Meeker Lighting & Staging, Inc. 2011  /  Marcy Blum – Marcy Blum Associates Inc. 2010  /  Evan Korn – IDEKO 2010  /  Walter Rauscher – Ark Restaurants 2010  /  Debra Roth – Pink Powered by Moss 2010  /  Francis Tedesco – Academy Bus 2010  /  Marion White – 2010  /  Dick Cattani – Compass Group 2009  /  Fern Mallis – IMG Fachion / Mercedes Benz Fashion Week 2009  /  Josh McCall – Jack Morton Worldwide, 2009  /  Candida Romanelli – New York International Automobile Show; Greater New York Automobile Dealers Association; Center for Automotive Education & Training 2009


Agenda – Red7Media  /  Alpine Creative Group  /  Preston Bailey – Designer  /  Lisa Barnett – New York Post  /  Jaclyn Bernstein, DMCP, Robert W. Hulsmeyer, CSEP, CMP, DMCP – ACCESS New York (Formerly – Empire Force Events)  /  Tom A Bernstein, David A. Tewksbury, and Roland
W. Betts –  Chelsea Piers  /  BizBash Media  /  Michael Cerbelli – Total Entertainment  /  Joe Cozza – Cipriani  /  Michael Desiderio – Tavern on the Green  /  Dianne Devitt, CMP – DND Group  /  Joe Jeff Goldblatt, CSEP – Professor and Author  /  Jim Kirsch – Abigail Kirsch  /  Elyse Kroll – ENK International  /  Jean McFadden – Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and more…  / Liz Neumark –  Great Performances  /  Paul Nicaj – Battery Gardens  /  Party Rental Ltd.  /  Scharff Weisberg  /  David Tutera – Designer